The Staten Island Society of Model Railroaders was established in 1956 when it received its charter from the State of New York as a non-profit educational corporation. Through the years it occupied several locations, among which was the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Station in Pleasant Plains during the 1960s, and in the old New Dorp Train Station at Richmondtown Restoration. After that we moved to the Snug Harbor Cultural Center as a permanent tenant. Again a large permanent layout was built and viewed by thousands every Christmas and Spring. In 1991, as a result of a rent increase, we were forced to move from Snug Harbor, and due to high rents another location could not be found. At that time the Club agreed to convert to the modular concept of model railroading. Finally we found our current home at the Seaview Hospital and Home located in Willowbrook. We have done extensive work on our club room. We currently have operating HO and O Scale layouts in our clubroom which is located in the Staff House.